Rink-e-de-dink and Pickle-de-doo

perlitaFifty years ago, as a young missionary in Peru, I started a little story paper for the children in my Sunday school. It was done on the old system of duplicating with alcohol.

As time progressed I updated to a mimeograph and printed with ink. I gave the story paper the name of La Perlita, The Little Pearl.

La Perlita has gone through different stages, but she’s still as young and charming as 50 years ago! In 2009 she “resurrected” from some time in hiding and went modern. She has now been on-line ever since. This week it will be story 330 in Spanish.

Well, rink-e-de-dink and pickle-de-doo… I have a friend that translates the stories to English. I have written about my dear friend Nancy in a previous blog, but now my friend has written a story and a fun song. You will have to come up with the melody yourself. My granddaughter Sarah and i had lots of fun doing that. You can find the story in Any-Time Stories together with a couple of other new stories. See also Stories for Children and Testimony Stories.

I am me and you are you

Well, rink-e-de-dink and pickle-de-doo…
I am me and you are you.
We don’t have to worry if we’re not the same,
‘Cause we have different parents
and we have different names.
No, I’m not you and you’re not me,
but we can still be friends, you see;
You may like spinach and I may like peas,
But still you’re you and I am me.
So rink-e-de-dink and pickle-de-doo,
I am me and you are you.
We don’t have to worry if we’re not the same,
‘Cause God knows us and He knows our name!

I’ve taken a break visiting my Dad in Sweden. Even the Spanish La Perlita was on a two-week vacation. I will try to be a little more consistent with publishing in English. “Try” is a good word. There is only so much a person can do. I need and assitatent. For now, I’m assisting myself and it doesn’t work very well.

La Perlia is still as young as 50 years ago, but her “mother” –that would be Auntie Margaret– is young at heat but physically slowing down. I sure feel a difference at age 70, even from five years ago. But as long as I have breath I will continue publishing my stories. I hope you enjoy them!

Read about when I was a patient in a 36-bed common room hospital in Arequipa, Peru.

79 Thirty Six Beds in One Room

Sala de 36 camas

Leave a Reply

